The winner of this year’s Bologna Children’s Book Fair was Satoe Tono for Lonely Pippo.  Unfortunately when I went to visit the exhibition at Itabashi Art Museum, it was placed in one of the outer rooms – very unusual considering it won.  Anyway, my favourites from this year’s illustrators are below.

I wonder if my personality could be defined in shapes!  The ones I like most are blocky, colourful, humorous and full of pattern.   The theme of my likes is the same everywhere – fashion, thinking and how I go about my life.

Bologna Childrens Book Illustration 01

Bologna Childrens Book Illustration 02

Taro Miura – Le Tout Petit Roi

Yusuke Yonezu – La Mia Citta

Kristina Brasseler – Traumeland Wimmelbuch

Daniel Dolz and Doris Freigofas – High Times

Philip Giordano – Gallito Pelon

Tamaki Kimura – Tilde’s First Shopping

Tetsuzi Yamaguchi – 23 View of Mount Fuji

Satoe Tono – Lonely Pippo

Taro Miura Le Tout Petit Roi

Yusuke Yonezu La Mia Citta

Kristina Brasseler traumeland wimmelbuchDaniel Dolz Doris Freigofas High Times

Philip Giordano Gallito PelonTamaki Kimura Tilde's First ShoppingTetsuzi Yamaguchi 23 views of Mount Fuji

Satoe Tone Lonely Pippo

